Free Tutoring for Students in the Western eTutoring Consortium

Free Tutoring in the following subjects is available for students in the Western eTutoring Consortium:

  • Accounting
  • Anatomy & Physiology
  • Biolog
  • Calculus
  • Chemistry
  • Economics
  • Math
  • Microsoft Office
  • Outpatient Medical Coding
  • Pathophysiology and Pharmacology
  • Physics
  • Spanish
  • Statistics
  • Web Development
  • Writing

Strategy 1 in Strategic Technology Plan

As part of implementing Strategy I in the system Strategic Technology Plan

Strategy I: Create a single, system-wide suite of online teaching and learning tools that provides all Washington students with easy access to “anywhere, anytime” learning.

… SBCTC now funds the technology fee for any Washington Community or Technical College that wants to participate in the Western eTutoring Consortium.

The Western eTutoring Consortium currently includes 27 Washington Community and Technical Colleges, and institutions from five western states. The colleges in the consortium use a common technology platform and share local tutors to provide eTutoring for all their students.

  • All member colleges provide at least 5 hours of tutoring each week.
  • The SBCTC will pay your college’s technology fee ($2,500 for most colleges). The SBCTC will invoice your college for the one-time $1,000 set-up fee to brand a site for your college.
  • The State Board has hired a full-time project coordinator who creates a single schedule for all tutors.
  • The Western eTutoring Consortium has been operating since January 2008 and participating colleges have branded portals.


Sara Bergfeld, Manager, Western eTutoring Consortium

Participating Washington Community and Technical Colleges

  • Bellevue College
  • Big Bend Community College
  • Cascadia College
  • Centralia College
  • Clark College
  • Clover Park Technical College
  • Columbia Basin College
  • Edmonds Community College
  • Everett Community College
  • Grays Harbor College
  • Lower Columbia College
  • North Seattle College
  • Olympic College
  • Peninsula College
  • Pierce College
  • Renton Technical College
  • Seattle Central College
  • Shoreline Community College
  • Skagit Valley College
  • South Puget Sound Community College
  • South Seattle College
  • Spokane Falls Community College
  • Spokane Community College
  • Tacoma Community College
  • Wenatchee Valley College
  • Whatcom Community College
  • Yakima Valley Community College

Other Participating Colleges

  • Boise State University
  • California State University East Bay
  • Chemeketa Community College
  • Eastern Washington University
  • Linfield College
  • Klamath Community College
  • MiraCosta College
  • Mt. Hood Community College
  • Portland Community College
  • Rogue Community College
  • Salt Lake Community College
  • University of Wyoming
  • Utah State University
  • Washington State University
  • Weber State University


Top of page

Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License
Content on the SBCTC eLearning site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License

Page Manager:
Page Reviewed/Updated: September 25, 2014, 1:35 PM

The Content box should not go past this line >>

WA State Board for Community and Technical Colleges  |  Open 8 AM - 5 PM, Mon-Fri  |  Phone: 360-704-4400  |  Fax: 360-704-4415

PO Box 42495  1300 Quince Street SE  Olympia, WA 98504-2495  |  Get Directions  |  Contact Web Master